Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
What's the right cassette ratio for Duathlon/Triathlon?
Quote | Reply
Hi Guys,

I'm new in the world of triatlon/duathlon. Last weekend I've done my first sprint duathlon and it went not as I've expected. My 5k run was 23min; 20k Bike: 35min; Second run: 2.5km 15 minutes. I'm not satisfied with my time, especially with the bike time and the second run which went awful. Since it's my first sprint duathlon and I didn't practice running on a tires legs (MISTAKE No.1) my second run went terribly wrong. When I got off the bike, I felt that my legs are sinking in the cement. Additionally, I did't do well on the bike as well. I have a compact crank (50/36) with 12/27 cassette (Mistake No.2).

Overall, I have two major questions.
First, since the bike ride was on a flat surface, do you think that I would have preformed better with 11/25 cassette in terms of averaged speed? Second, what do you think is crucial for a good second run?

Thanks!
Last edited by: Aeroman: Nov 8, 18 12:59
Quote Reply
Re: What's the right cassette ratio for Duathlon/Triathlon? [Aeroman] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Aeroman wrote:
Hi Guys,

I'm new in the world of triatlon/duathlon. Last weekend I've done my first sprint duathlon and it went not as I've expected. My 5k run was 23min; 20k Bike: 35min; Second run: 2.5km 15 minutes. I'm not satisfied with my time, especially with the bike time and the second run which went awful. Since it's my first sprint duathlon and I didn't practice running on a tires legs (MISTAKE No.1) my second run went terribly wrong. When I got off the bike, I felt that my legs are sinking in the cement. Additionally, I did't do well on the bike as well. I have a compact crank (50/36) with 12/27 cassette (Mistake No.2).