Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Well hello there strangers of the triathlon internet....Cobbling together advice from people who don't know me to weigh alongside informal coaching.
Quote | Reply
Morning, ST, from NYC, where my recovering-from-a-stomach-bug pair of children (8 and 5) are physically bound to their iPads and we've all been up since 5. Not a complaint; a simple fact. I'm a morning person, which comes in handy for this tri business, to which just about a year ago I decided to jump in. My background: hubs and I are both early 40s, both take our fitness and health seriously primarily as sanity, secondarily vanity. He's a "monathlete" (his own word), a dedicated road cyclist training for a bucket-list endurance event. I'm a licensed massage therapist for 23 years, a Pilates teacher for almost 17, a yoga teacher for 13, and am certified as a personal trainer by NASM and ACSM. I lift heavy stuff, and break a sweat minimum 5 times a week, usually more like 9-10x. As I mentioned, about a year ago, apparently I was feeling restless, so I bought a USAT membership and signed up for three tri events over the summer- a sprint Memorial Day weekend, and Olympic distance mid-July, and a 70.3 in late August. I survived all 3 and learned a LOT. By any appraisal, I am slow AF, and I will not ever be middle or front of the pack athlete. I think though that I do have the capacity to move to the middle of the back, or maybe even the front third.

Prior to training for tri, I only knew how to swim so as not to drown, and hadn't ridden a bike in 11 years, nor had I ever clipped in, and while I have run 17 standalone half marathons and 4 standalone full M, my half PR was nine years ago, and it was fast for ME, and a blind drunk casual jog for most of you ST posters.