Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: WTS Hamburg...now a World Championship [devashish_paul] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
A very valid reasoning, except for the fact that this is 10 day notice.
Quote Reply
Re: WTS Hamburg...now a World Championship [ecce-homo] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
ecce-homo wrote:

Exactly,this is something people don't seem to understand or don't think is relevant.

If I am a top ITU pro from half way around the world and two months ago I am told about all the hassles of COVID travel I would be thinking, " It's only the regular Hamburg event,Nah I won't go and maybe I'll shift my training in preparation for next year or have a go at some 70.3 races while I have a rare opportunity" (for those in Oz).Then 10 days out they change it to a world champ's and those athletes are like "WTF,you could have told me two months ago and I could have sorted out my training and travel.Thank's for that!"
Last edited by: ThailandUltras: Aug 29, 20 20:19
Quote Reply
Re: WTS Hamburg...now a World Championship [ecce-homo] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
ecce-homo wrote:

Yes., but its the year of Covid19, so everything is kind of out the window....so this year, its the world championships of all the athletes who are allowed into Europe with 10 days notice and who can get there. The kid from Rwanda, for her, she's still not winning a medal compared to a regular year. World championships are alway about who can show up given the challenges of access. This year, its a different challenge, but its just a different version of who gets locked out from competing and on the outside looking at those who get to compete. Its actually nothing new, for most of the world, its just new for those of us in parts of the world where we always have access to compete in whatever sport we want.
Quote Reply
Re: WTS Hamburg...now a World Championship [ThailandUltras] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply