Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Virtual bike fit
Quote | Reply
I'm new to triathlons and looking to buy a road bike. I live in Israel where the races are all draft-legal. No tri bikes or bars.

Here's the problem: I'm 6'2" but have a 32" inseam (187/83cm) a "longbody roddy" if ever there was one.

A used bike that fits looks like it's going to be hard to find. The bike shops and importers I've found sell Trek and Scott bikes, which I'm not crazy about, or Italian bikes, which I am crazy about, but the ones I've seen have short top tubes.

What I'd like is a Litespeed or Cervelo but they're not sold here. Does it make sense to buy one in the States, with only a virtual fit, and have a friend bring it over, then fine tune the fit once it's here? Can Lightspeed or Cervelo or a bike shop, knowing my measurements, tell me with any confidence that a 56 or 58 (or a 57 in Litespeed's case) is the correct size?

I guess ideally I'd buy the Cervelo Soloist since it has more than a 1,000 points (bucks) in it's favor vs. a Lightspeed Tuscany or Siena, especially since I'd be buying it without riding it first which already strikes me as a bad, but maybe unavoidable, thing to do.

Alternatively, does Bianchi or Pinarello or any other Italian bikemaker make a bike that runs long in the top?

Cheers,

Felix
Quote Reply
Re: Virtual bike fit [Hawk] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Felix,

Mondonico and their American doppleganger Torelli offer great road bikes in standard top-tube lengths. Additionally, they offer several frames in steel, aluminum and alu-carbon. All are first rate and the Torelli's offer some great price points. Likewise, if you know your geometry, Dean, Curtlo, Sycip, Jericho and Strong (all American) offer great prices on custom steel and ti. ...Again, that's based on the premise that you need a standard road frame.