Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Vibrams Replacement
Quote | Reply
Not sure if minimalist footwear is a taboo topic yet, but I have a question.

I successfully transitioned to Vibrams last year for all running/racing including distances up to half marathon. I ended up really liking it. This really helped fix an ongoing spasm in my foot arch I had been battling for a couple years and no knee pain!! However, there were a couple trade offs. I had some blister issues during faster runs (i might have a half size too big) and Vibrams are not ideal for triathlon transitions. I was looking into transitioning back to trainers, but the arch of my foot starts to ache and they feel incredibly clunky...

So, does anyone have recommendations for minimalist type shoes with about 10mm of padding and <4mm drop with very little arch support??? I think I can run faster with a trainer, but i want something more than the 5mm barefoot running shoe options (Xero, Vivobarefoot, Merrel, etc.)

Or, does anyone feel like they can run fastest in Vibrams/barefoot and have advice about blisters? Maybe I will continue with the trend and try to reduce my 7 minute T2...

Thanks!
Quote Reply
Re: Vibrams Replacement [toastygloveman] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
If you have been using vibrams for a bit you may also need shoes with a wider toe box than you are used to. Vibrams will have allowed your foot to expand on impact and this can have the effect of making your feet a bit wider over time. Its useful for running, but not for shoes traditionally sized for feet that have grown into shoe shapes over the years!

He who understands the WHY, will understand the HOW.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Have you considered Merrell Bare Access?
They are very lightweight shoes with zero drop but unlike the Road Glove or Trail Glove they include some moderate cushioning (about 8mm I think).