Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Vasectomy with general anesthesia?
Quote | Reply
My consultation today with the urologist about my vasectomy did not go as planned. They are insisting that I have it done with general anesthesia rather than local. I'm not crazy about the idea of being put completely under for such a simple procedure I called several other urologists and no one can get me in to see me for quite a long time. Does anyone have any input on whether I should get a second opinion. I really don't want to put this off anymore because of where that would put me in proximity to races and training.
Quote Reply
Re: Vasectomy with general anesthesia? [Fishbum] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I'm no doctor, but I cannot imagine why you would need general anesthesia for that procedure. As a rule, I would say avoid general for any relatively minor procedure (which this is). You might also look into if your insurance would even cover general for a procedure like this - I don't think it is standard practice.

~Kevin
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I did general for mine over my doc's objection simply because I'm a world class baby when it comes to medical (and dental) stuff.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I thought this was a triathlon forum, not a medical advice line......
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Why did the doctor want general anesthesia? I had a local for mine with no issues.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
My husband had his under local - and said it was really weird to be chatting with the surgeon while he was doing what he needed to do. No idea why you'd take the risk of general anaesthesia if you didn't need to.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply