Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Upgrade questions for early 90s Trek 1400
Quote | Reply
I got an early 90s Trek 1400 a few years ago from a retired triathlete. Mostly has original 105 groupset but with bar end shifters. Would like to get a new crankset, front and rear derailleurs, and brakes. I'm new to doing upgrades like this and am not sure what BB the bike has and what crankset will match it. Trying to put together a buy list - does this look right? Help a newbie out please! Thanks!

Crankset
Front Mech
Rear Mech
Rear Cassette
Brake Levers
Brakes

Pics in Google Drive: https://drive.google.com/...4QmrVH2fkCvlNwOilx3a
Quote Reply
Re: Upgrade questions for early 90s Trek 1400 [Murdock] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I am pretty sure that the bottom bracket is English threaded.

I would recommend buying a complete new bike.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Looks like 10 speed already (which I doubt was standard).
Check the wheels to make sure they're 11-speed compatible, if that's the way you want to go. And add 11-speed shifters to the list if you do.
Otherwise (if you keep it 10- speed) make sure you find a suitable 10-speed rear derailleur (not Tiagra 4700 which uses a different cable pull ratio to 10-speed 105/Ultegra/D-Ace).

The BB currently there is a square taper, but replacements are cheap. It will be an English threaded 68mm item, just get whatever matches your crank of choice (which should also suit how many rear gears it has).

Also add a chain, cables and bartape to your shopping cart.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Murdock wrote:
I got an early 90s Trek 1400 a few years ago from a retired triathlete. Mostly has original 105 groupset but with bar end shifters. Would like to get a new crankset, front and rear derailleurs, and brakes. I'm new to doing upgrades like this and am not sure what BB the bike has and what crankset will match it. Trying to put together a buy list - does this look right? Help a newbie out please! Thanks!