Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: USAT Age Group Olympic Nats Roll call 2014 - Milwaukee, WI [Steve-oH!] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Steve-oH! wrote:
Question: Was this the most competitive USA Oly/sprint fields in the history of sport??

Thanks Steve. Good to meet you too! Like you, I was a newbie at short course nationals, since my last one was in Chicago in the mid '90s. Folks who are regulars at the event would be able to confirm whether it was the most competitive in history, but I would think it probably was because of the size of the field and the opportunity to qualify to race at the first short course worlds in the continental U.S. in two decades.

Our peers who race nationals regularly schooled me a bit on peaking for the event and pushing all the way to the finish line. I wish I had a chance to redeem myself down the road, but I don't anticipate trying to qualify for a draft-legal sprint worlds and I don't know if a non-draft-legal sprint nationals will ever be as competitive again if it doesn't qualify folks for Team USA.
Last edited by: Mark Lemmon: Aug 12, 14 15:35
Quote Reply
Re: USAT Age Group Olympic Nats Roll call 2014 - Milwaukee, WI [h2ofun] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
$50 is the big key there. In the land of $10,000 bikes who wouldn't pay $50 to preserve their option to race for multiple months. I would say I have a 50/50 chance of racing Chicago right now depending on what university I end up at and what time of year it starts, but I will certainly be paying $50 for the "extension" to decide. Who knows I may start at the end of September and for sure want to race Chicago or I may start early September and be wrapped up in xc. $50 could well buy me to the time to know which it is.
Quote Reply
Re: USAT Age Group Olympic Nats Roll call 2014 - Milwaukee, WI [Mark Lemmon] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Mark Lemmon wrote:
Steve-oH! wrote: