Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: Two ironmans messed up by SRAM Etap in less than one month. BEWARE! [Nolegs] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Nolegs wrote:
DarkSpeedWorks wrote:
Yes, agreed about the rate of failure.

However, the failure modes of electronic shifting is, unfortunately, another issue entirely.

Totally agree. Sort of reminds be back in the late 70's when GM switched their distributor from mechanical points and rotor to HEI. I thought, holy crap, how the heck do I work on this now? I'm not an electronic engineer. Guess what? This new electronic distributor completely blew away the older mechanical one.

Fast forward to today. Deja vu all over again. Don't fight the progress. Embrace it.

It's funny, because as an IT guy, my comfort level goes;

electronic
mechanical
hydraulic

I'd much rather troubleshoot electronics than try to do tension perfectly, nevermind flushing hydraulic fluid...

The point is, ladies and gentleman, that speed, for lack of a better word, is good. Speed is right, Speed works. Speed clarifies, cuts through, and captures the essence of the evolutionary spirit.
Quote Reply
Re: Two ironmans messed up by SRAM Etap in less than one month. BEWARE! [DarkSpeedWorks] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
DarkSpeedWorks wrote:

However, the failure modes of electronic shifting is, unfortunately, another issue entirely.
That is often overlooked. This topic is a perfect example. Dude's has had shifting problems for months and he can't figure out why. With mech finding out what's wrong is dead-simple.

Other slowtwitchers have posted similar questions. "Help e shifting is broken and I can't figure out why!" The intermittent problems are the worst. When was the last time a mech group did that? Worked, then didn't, then worked again, on and off? Never?
Quote Reply
Re: Two ironmans messed up by SRAM Etap in less than one month. BEWARE! [Toby] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Toby wrote: