Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Two Weeks in Bar Harbor / MDI
Quote | Reply
During the last two weeks in August, I will be vacationing in Mound Desert Island (home to Acadia National Park). First week down in Southwest Harbor, second week in Bar Harbor.

I am just beginning to do some research on training ideas. Anyone have any great routes or otherwise I should consider? Lake based OW swims? Swims at the Y in Bar Harbor? Carriage Road runs, rides on Park Drive, Cadillac Mountain, other?

Thanks!
David
Quote Reply
Re: Two Weeks in Bar Harbor / MDI [David in NY] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
David,

MDI is a great place to train, especially if you can get out early before the mobs of tourists wake up, have breakfast, and start to waddle about.

My inlaws have a place in Southwest Harbor that we were just at. I often doing longer rides from there into the park, around the loop road a few times, and sometimes up Cadillac. Swimming is great in Echo Lake, which is two miles from SW Harbor. I like to run from SW Harbor along the water towards the Bass Harbor Lighthouse - it's around 7-8 miles each way, depending on where you start. Running on the carriage roads is also great. A nice place to park is at Eagle Lake - lots to choose from there in terms of distance and terrain.

Here are a few strava links from some workouts to give you an idea of what the area has to offer:

bike

run

swim

Blog: http://262toboylstonstreet.blogspot.com/
https://twitter.com/NateThomasTri
Coaching: https://bybtricoaching.com/ - accepting athletes for 2023
Last edited by: natethomas: Aug 8, 17 12:53
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply