Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Triple or Double
Quote | Reply
Hi,

I am a novice triathlete who only manage (so far) to complete 3 sprint triathlons. I am currently riding a Giant OCR with a triple. As I am getting better and stronger, I have thought about upgrading my bike and one idea was changing the chainset to double (The main reason is that my budget is limited and I cannot afford a new bike). I thought that it will reduce the weight of moving parts, while allowing me to use the 39/25 gear for hills. I have in fact been given an Ultegra double which I can fit.

This month the British magazine Cycling Plus has compared three road bikes. The author claims that the Specialized Allez 16 could be the best budget road bike. However, he argues that what limits the bike from being an outright winner is the double chainset. The article strongly recommends to get the triple version with 24 gears. In addition, the author suggests that "unless you are an old school racer who wouldn't be seen dead with a triple, there's every reason to buy the 24..."

After reading this article I was wondering if a double will be sufficient or is it a question of posing as a hard-core roadie. I am, therefore, a bit anxious about changing the setup and then suffering on the climbs (I live in a hilly area), so I was intersted in people's opinion.

Thanks,

Paula
Quote Reply
Re: Triple or Double [mobile concepts] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I have a triple, and I am really glad that I do. I can ride pretty fast, but don't have the power that many do on the hills. Consequently, I'm the guy you walk away from on the hills only to have me go screaming by on the descents and occasionally on the flats(and vice versa). I can spin a high cadence, but don't have the force to back it up on the hills(Lance does, which is why he dominates the sport.)