Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Tri bike recommendations
Quote | Reply
Hi everyone,
I am new to triathalons and am looking for my first tri bike. I will test them when the snow thaws but I am between theee options and would like insight from those more experienced. In my budget (2500-3000)I can get:
Quintana Roo Lucero lite 2015 with Reynolds carbon wheels (NOS)
Cervelo P2 Di2 2017 (Nos)
Cervelo P2 105 2018

Seems like Cervelo is the most respected but for a little less money I can get the QR with carbon wheels.
Am I better off with the base Cervelo and hope to add better wheels later? Or are the bikes similar enough to go with the value?
Thank you for the advise
Quote Reply
Re: Tri bike recommendations [edmd] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
NOS speed Concepts are about 2800-3000$ with Ultegra, wide tubeless 50mm deep aero wheels. Fast, integrated storage, almost limitless fit options. I can't see why that doesn't make your list.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
The Cervelo P2/P3 is a solid bike, and it is the most popular brand at most of the big races. However, a lot of fantastic bikes have entered the market since the P2/P3 was a world beater in 2013. I would expand the list to consider the Felt IA16, Trek NoS Speed Concept, and Canyon Speedmax CF 7.0. The P2 has a poor cockpit with horrible cable routing. So, you are looking at a moderate investment on top of the initial P2 purchase just to get that bike in the same league with the others, but probably not faster. Because of that, IMHO, the P2 is overpriced by several hundred dollars relative to market.

Di2 is awesome. But, 105 performs very well and you can always upgrade the groupset. It is really hard to upgrade the frame.

Getting carbon wheels from the start is also pretty cool. But I suspect the rest of the Lucero Lite is slower than many other bikes at the $3K target.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply