Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Training on Race Bike
Quote | Reply
I am relatively new to triathlons (have completed 1 IM) and am currently signed up for a HIM and IM this year. I had completed 100% of my training for my previous triathlons on my tri bike. I recently bought a road bike and also joined a gym that has a good cycling studio. I currently have my tri bike set up on a smart trainer and am wondering if some training on my road bike and the occasional spin class are applicable for IM training? I like the spin class to get me out of my routine/ comfort zone and would like to use my road bike for outdoor rides.
Quote Reply
Re: Training on Race Bike [cmow14] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
For me, having the variety makes riding more fun. Some of my training rides are with a road bike, even a gravel bike at times. But I'm just a scrappy age group athlete that ocasionally lands on an AG podium at local races and not a Kona or 70.3 worlds slot.

A lot of athletes near me do a bit of road bike racing and cyclocross, gravel etc. and are extremely strong on TT bikes.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I do the majority of my training on my road bike. As bigger races get closer I'll do more sessions on my tri bike to make sure I'm comfortable in aero, but TBH the roadie is more fun to ride (climbs better, handles better). Many pros also do lots of miles on the road bike; and even when they are on the tri bike, for group rides they are on the basebar.

Rides on a road bike and spin classes are definitely applicable to IM training. Fitness is fitness.

ECMGN Therapy Silicon Valley:
Depression, Neurocognitive problems, Dementias (Testing and Evaluation), Trauma and PTSD, Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
It all depends on your goals.