Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: Trainer road.com [djb_rh] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
You will be using them on there in no time....................Probably will have fun changing up your workouts.....Intertestin to learn high cadence with power
Quote Reply
Re: Trainer road.com [Nate Pearson] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Nate-

Just signed up....this can probably be answered by anyone on here.

I am a beginner cyclist and just finished my 2nd ride (Kingsbury). What I am having trouble with is maintaining a high cadence (85+) during my rest periods. I have a triple crankset and during my all out effort, I am usually riding in the middle (up front) and in 6 on the back. Have no problem maintaining 90rpm. During my rest period, I would just shift the back down to 4 and be able to maintain the 75ish power with a 65-70 cadence.

Do I need to shift into a much lower gear to keep the high cadence during rest periods? Any insight is appreciated.
Quote Reply
Re: Trainer road.com [MasterTX] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
MasterTX wrote:
Nate-

Just signed up....this can probably be answered by anyone on here.

I am a beginner cyclist and just finished my 2nd ride (Kingsbury). What I am having trouble with is maintaining a high cadence (85+) during my rest periods. I have a triple crankset and during my all out effort, I am usually riding in the middle (up front) and in 6 on the back. Have no problem maintaining 90rpm. During my rest period, I would just shift the back down to 4 and be able to maintain the 75ish power with a 65-70 cadence.

Do I need to shift into a much lower gear to keep the high cadence during rest periods? Any insight is appreciated.

That's a good general question. I'd shift down and get used to spinning at 90 RPM a lot. Once you can do it without thinking about it, then do what feels naturally.