Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

To shave or not to shave?
Quote | Reply
Just found this great tri forum.

I am new to tri's (about 12 months now) and also new to cycling. I see a lot of what I would call "serious" athletes whom shave their legs. Talking about males here.

What are the benefits of shaved legs ? Show off your leg muscles - ha? Reduce infection from leg hair in a wound after a fall?

I have done about 5,000 km (3,000 miles) on my bike in 12 months and have not fallen off once (I guess I am lucky). Are bike falls common for cyclists such that it warrants the dreaded shaving?

Do most of you male athletes shave your legs?

Thanks

"Hairy Legs"
Quote Reply
Re: To shave or not to shave? [Hairy Legs] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Sorry - I guess I should have done a "search post" first before I duplicated this question of shaving. Seems that it has been asked and answered many time before. Sorry.

Still "Hairy Legs"
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Ah Ha! They're not hairly legs!

They're "Bearskin Leg Warmers"

I shave in years when I'm doing an IM so I don't look so stupid at races.

TriDork

TriDork

"Happiness is a myth. All you can hope for is to get laid once in a while, drunk once in a while and to eat chocolate every day"
Quote Reply
Re: To shave or not to shave? [tridork] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I shave. I consider myself pretty serious about the sport but I do it just incase there is a nasty fall. As once stated by someone on this forum(sorry, I don't remember the name), there are three types of cyclist: Ones that will fall, ones that have fallen, and ones that are both.