Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Tires for winter
Quote | Reply
I’m new to New England and trying to figure out how to best setup my “winter” bike for some outdoor base miles when weather permits.

In SF, I ran 30c Tubeless Corsa Controls with full fenders (which is maximum the frame fits). Worked great given the winter rain and wet roads.

Here in New England, I’m expecting snow. I don’t plan to ride the bike in blizzard conditions, but say I wanted to ride when roads are reasonably clear with some melted snow, maybe some ice, puddles, etc. I could fit up to 38 tires (but no room for fenders). Should I ride a MTB? Stay off the roads when there is risk of ice (resume my roads are salted). My winter bike is pretty nice (custom steel Stelbel Rodano Disc) which made sense in Bay Area but is that crazy to ride on salted roads? Should I be riding some kind of cheap Surly? I have a Midnight Special with 650 x 48s and fenders that I commute on, would that make more sense?

I really want a fat tire bike for heavy snow riding, but that’s a separate topic.
Quote Reply
Re: Tires for winter [wintershade] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
wintershade wrote:
I’m new to New England and trying to figure out how to best setup my “winter” bike for some outdoor base miles when weather permits.

In SF, I ran 30c Tubeless Corsa Controls with full fenders (which is maximum the frame fits). Worked great given the winter rain and wet roads.