Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Time for a new bike and need some opinions
Quote | Reply
It’s time for a new bike and I need a little help. I’ve been doing triathlons and duathlons for the past 3 years on a standard road bike with pretty good results. Now I’m ready to step it up a notch and buy a new bike and I’ve been considering something with a steeper set tube angle. Here’s my question I prefer sprint too ½ IM distance races with technical/hilly bike courses meaning the tougher the better, should I stay with a standard geometry or go with a 76 deg or even a 78 deg? I’ve heard if the bike is to steep it doesn’t handle as well on technical courses. I also prefer a compact style frame I’ve found them easier for fast dismounts and 700c wheels. I’m 5’9”

Thanks
Quote Reply
Re: Time for a new bike and need some opinions [Jason] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I know you gave a lot of information, but it isn't nearly enough. Yes, some people have a harder time climbing on a steeper frame...until they practice climbing on the steep frame. I always THOUGHT I didn't climb well on a steep frame because I didn't FEEL as powerful as when on a standard 73 degree bike. As it turns out, I'm actually faster on a steeper frame according to the clock. Although I DO ride a 76 degree frame faster than a 78 on hills, I ride a 76 faster on the flats, too...I guess it's due to my geometry and physiology. So the real answer is...it depends upon you, and maybe depends upon how you practice. Go to a VERY experienced fitter that knows more than just geometry, and maybe you'll get it right the first time.