Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: Tim Noakes: we need you back for a moment [triguy42] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I wonder if Dr. Noakes has ever raced an Ironman in hot, humid conditions?
Quote Reply
Re: Tim Noakes: we need you back for a moment [shacking] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
No but he has raced the Comrades Ultra multiple times if memory serves, that's a pretty hot one.

Professional Athlete: http://jordancheyne.wordpress.com/ http://www.strava.com/athletes/145340

Coaching Services:http://www.peakformcoaching.com/

Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
shacking wrote:
now you are back pedalling a little, which is appropriate. If you studied scales, their use, with and without clothes, and all these other holes you are poking in the "use the scale" argument, you won't generally find a 22lb difference. Maybe a 5-10 lb difference. No piece of data in any equation is 100% reliable all the time. I am a doctor, I know that. I treat the patient, not the data. The point I want to make is-- the scale is probably the only useful piece of data in the field... we need to use it, albeit with the knowledge of some normal variation and also margin of error. DONT THROW AWAY THE SCALES!! I want to know how many people died in the hospital, who could have been saved if they hadnt been over-aggressively hydrated? That is the real MEAT of this story. And one we may never find out about.

There...instead of 'totally disagreeing' with everybody... ;-)
Quote Reply
Re: Tim Noakes: we need you back for a moment [devashish_paul] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I found this... it appears that an immediate effect of altitude change is for your body to try to increase its oxygen carrying capacity by concentrating hemoglobin by the means of what is termed "altitude diuresis" and this is a normal physiologic response.

http://ismm.org/index.php/normal-acclimatization.html