Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Tell me about coaching
Quote | Reply
Looking for some insight.

I've been talking to a local pro about doing some cycling coaching. But I'm trying to weigh the idea.

Those with a coach:
- what do/did you find beneficial about coaching?
- what do you find unhelpful?

Coaches:
- what do you strive to provide on a basic level?
- what should someone avoid in a coach or program?

Thanks for any help.
Quote Reply
Re: Tell me about coaching [%FTP] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
%FTP wrote:
Those with a coach:
Thanks for any help.

1. The planned workouts and suggested volume
Having someone to answer to so I don't skip workouts
2. Nothing
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Accountability is a big thing...I've been a coach for 9 years but yet I suck at coaching myself. The reason being when I have someone else design my workouts I do not want to waste that person's time and even more importantly I do not want to waste the money I would be spending. So obviously I am an advocate of having a coach/trainer.

The main thing to determine is how much interaction with a coach you will require. Do you just need someone to design workouts for you? Do you want someone to go out on training rides with you from time to time? Do you expect your coach to respond to questions same day or within a day or two? All of those basic questions are going to dictate the coach's dedication to YOUR training and also play a part in how much you would pay for said services. You should discuss all of that ahead of time so the both of you are on the same page. It will make for a more productive coach/athlete relationship and in the end you will be a happier/faster athlete!
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply