Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Taper for 40k
Quote | Reply
How do you guys taper for 40k? It’s one of 2 A races for me this summer

Would doing a 40k race 6days before the race be a good, or bad idea?

The TT is pancake flat - but there is almost nowhere near me to ride for an hour straight (or anywhere flat).

So i was thinking the pre-race TT would be good practice. Thoughts?
Quote Reply
Re: Taper for 40k [mvenneta] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
mvenneta wrote:
How do you guys taper for 40k? It’s one of 2 A races for me this summer

The TT is pancake flat - but there is almost nowhere near me to ride for an hour straight (or anywhere flat).

So i was thinking the pre-race TT would be good practice. Thoughts?

I saw this on page two with no responses so I figured I would bump it even though I am no expert.

I am guilty of never tapering enough for any type of race whether is is bike, run, or tri.

I enjoy the training almost as much as the races and because I am middle of the pack and still have a lot of fitness gains to make, I just keep training and do shorter tapers.

If your 40k "A" race you think you have a chance of podium, then I would think another race 6 days before is not a good idea. If you are not going to podium anyhow, I would do both and have fun.

"If it costs you 30 minutes at Maryland so what" -dwreal
Quote Reply
Re: Taper for 40k [bluestacks867] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
There are a couple Cat1s in Texas that I can’t beat, but have a decent shot at winning Cat3 and being top 3-5ish overall in state.

I don’t think a 40k is long / hard enough to leave residual fatigue 6 days later ..
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Look at what trainer road says to do. They have a low/mid/high volume plan for the 40k.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
mvenneta wrote:

Very bad idea if six days before. Good idea if three weeks before.
Quote Reply
Re: Taper for 40k [RichardL] [ In reply to ]