Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Talk me into OR out of tubeless
Quote | Reply
I've decided to bite the bullet and get a nice set of aero wheels (likely HED jet6+ based on so much love for it on ST and the current price point)

I really dont know if tubeless is right for me. I tried to read the tubeless/wheel super thread but it was a bit much to get through, so hoping to get some input on my specifics.

Details:
I'm not a great mechanic, so I plan to use my friend who is a good wrench to set up the tubeless and help every 6 months or so to check/reset.

I'd only use them for a handful of training rides and a few races per year.

Likely to get GP 4K, Conti GP 5K or Corsa speeds.

Cervelo p2 (rim)

1. Does it make sense for me to try tubeless?
-if i dont like it, have trouble, i can just go back to using them as clinchers.
2. Carry a tube for races in case of a flat? Training rides? (I assume so, but wondering if some live on the edge and dont)
3. What am I missing/not thinking about?

Thanks all!
Quote Reply
Re: Talk me into OR out of tubeless [curdog16] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply

1. I'm a huge tubeless fan, but, no, probably not worth it if you're only using them a few times per year.
2. Yes.
3. Yes, always carry a tube unless it's the kind of race where you're done if you flat, and you have an easy way back to the start.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
PROS
- no tubes!
- less flats

CONS
- some tire/rim combos are hard to seat
- tire/rim combination can make it IMPOSSIBLE to reseat tire while on the side of the road.
- sealant needs to be changed every six months or removed in the winter if your bike sits like mine.
- need to carry/use tire plugs for big punctures
- tires cost more
- if you need to change tires frequently it's a pain in the ass
- need to use the tires frequently or the sealant dries out.

I rode some pretty gnarly terrain with my tubeless that may not have been rideable without a pinch flat tube.