Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Swimming hard vs focusing solely on technique
Quote | Reply
Hey guys, I am still pretty new to swimming and started swimming laps last January with pretty much no swimming back ground. I took a few lessons, swam a few times per week from Jan to May and managed to get through a few short course races and one HIM over the summer. I am currently stuck around the 2:00/100yrd range and lately have been focusing on putting in harder sessions each time I swim. I have been told that my time is better spent focusing on intensity in sessions rather than doing drills.

I watch videos in between sessions and try to be mindful of my technique each time I swim but I know there is a bunch of things I am probably doing wrong and it is hard to focus on fixing the faults when I am trying to get through my hard interval sets. I don't know if my time would be better spent focusing on the foundational stuff to get my stroke more efficient or if I should be hammering through workouts and just building fitness. I am wondering what some of you think about this concept as there seems to be mixed opinions on this. How would you spend your 3-4 swims per week if you were in my position? I am not looking to be front of pack swimmer any time soon but I would like to get my swim times down a few mins on last season.

Thanks!!
Quote Reply
Re: Swimming hard vs focusing solely on technique [rbd32] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
If you want to get better over the long term, then you absolutely need to work on technique. The fitness is important too, good technique is somewhat dependent on good technique, but your technical skills are and will be your limiter unless you work on them, irrespective of how much fitness you gain.

Also, just to clarify for you, technique work can include drills, but not necessarily.

Swimming Workout of the Day:

Favourite Swim Sets:

2020 National Masters Champion - M50-54 - 50m Butterfly