Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Swimmers - I need a good strength training routine for sprint / middle distance.
Quote | Reply
I've been making stuff up as I go and kinda following Jason Lezak's program that I found on bodybuilding.com, but I'm looking at mixing things up.

Swimming Workout of the Day:

Favourite Swim Sets:

2020 National Masters Champion - M50-54 - 50m Butterfly
Quote Reply
Re: Swimmers - I need a good strength training routine for sprint / middle distance. [JasoninHalifax] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I remember you were using Bridge Athletic from a post a few years back. What caused to you change/leave?
Quote Reply
Re: Swimmers - I need a good strength training routine for sprint / middle distance. [David Swafford] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
That wasn’t me. I may have looked at it previously, but I’ve never used their program before.

Favourite Swim Sets:

Quote Reply
Re: Swimmers - I need a good strength training routine for sprint / middle distance. [JasoninHalifax] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Oh, got it.

That's another option. It's a bit pricey though, but I've been using it (their swim focused strength program) off/on for 2+ years now.

If you just need some ideas, they rotate between phases. I'm in their power phase right now and that has me doing things like deadlifts, medicine ball throws, one handed dumbell bench press, cable chops, with lots of stretching and mobility stuff.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I'd look for a TRX program. The use of body weight through range of motion seems to me the best way to go. Almost every one of the exercises hits the core, which you know is so important. A local here teaches it and was a high level D1 coach and NCAA medalist in 200 free. She swears by it.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Jason-this is the one I use-it's arduous but seems to give me the strength I need to hold my position.