Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Suggestions for First Tri Bike Purchase
Quote | Reply
I'm relatively new to the tri scene and first want to thank everyone on this forum for all the help I've gotten since doing my first tri last summer. I think I am officially addicted and wanted some advice. I bought a new road bike last year (my first) and was thinking of making the jump to getting a tri bike as well; figure it's a better long-term play versus clip-in bars.

I went through the whole fit process and it looks like the following three will work for my fit and price range:

Felt B Series
QR PRFOUR Disc
Cervelo P2

I've spent a decent amount of time reading through the pros/cons of each, but wanted to see if people had a strong view in either direction. My current road bike has disc brakes so I love that the QR comes with that, but is it that big of a deal to use rim if I never really ride in the rain?

Would love to get your thoughts! Also my next tri is in about a month - is that too short of a time period to get used to a new tri bike? Wondering if it's worth it to rush the purchase and start training on it or just spend some more time thinking.

Thanks!
Quote Reply
Re: Suggestions for First Tri Bike Purchase [newtryguy101] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Yes, too short of a timeframe. Make the change at the end of your season. Some people (myself included) take quite a bit of time to adapt to the position and handling of a TT bike. Take the rest of this season to focus on execution rather than researching gear for next season. Buy a bike in the fall. You’ll probably get a better deal to boot on last year’s color schemes.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply