Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Sudden Drop in Aerobic Fitness - WTF?
Quote | Reply
Hi All,

I'm supposedly in "good shape". I'm predominantly a cyclist, but flirt occasionally with Triathlon, and have been doing so for 20 years.

I'm 41, weigh 155 lbs and 5'11". I train between 7 and 14 hours / week basically all year around. For context, I did IM Tremblant in 10h50m last year.

This last week, I've noticed quite a dramatic and unprecedented loss of my aerobic capacity/fitness.

I've been using a computrainer for 6 years, and normally I have no problem whatsoever doing 270 watts for a few 20 minute tempo style intervals. I did these as recently as last week.

(during regular season, this would be ~300 watts, and if I take six weeks off, and start back up it would be ~250 watts. ...to give you and idea of the range)

(yes, I know ...I'm not a great cyclist ...but a reasonably good masters level weekend warrior)

This week; despite the fact I've been training regularly for the past few months (but by no means over-training) I can't even hold 220 watts for 8 minutes without having to stop, get off the trainer and then pant like a dog in heat.

And, I notice in simple day-to-day activities this week that I'm panting doing simple things like sweeping the floor. A leisurely walk feels like tempo. (this has never happened before)

I feel fine otherwise, just the normal fatigue associated with young kids and a busy life. The breathing is not "laboured" or difficult; but I just need to do more of it than normal.

Any thoughts on what could be wrong and what I should do? I've self diagnosed with a congenital heart defect, or anemia (using the Internet).

Thanks in advance!
David.
Quote Reply
Re: Sudden Drop in Aerobic Fitness - WTF? [david.stachon] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Go and see a doctor.

On the internet, you can be anything you want. It is a pity so many people choose to be stupid.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply