Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Stick to rim brakes because of disc maintenance?
Quote | Reply
Have you purchased a new bike recently and shied away from disc brakes, specifically, hydro, due to not being able to work on the brakes yourself?

I'm a home mechanic and I've gotten to the point on my mechanical rim brake bikes where I can break down and build up and make adjustments. I'm hoping to be able to get a new bike this spring and I'm eyeing the new SuperSix Evo. I'd love to hop on the disc brake train but I worry about maintaining the brakes, especially if they're hydro. I think I could maybe handle them if they're mechanical. The rim brake option also saves a bunch of money, but specifically to this bike, I love how the brake hoses run through the head tube and keep them hidden. You don't get that on the rim brake version.

Am I being ridiculous?
Quote Reply
Re: Stick to rim brakes because of disc maintenance? [teichs42] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
With regards to your specific situation, I would stick with rim brakes unless you think youā€™ll have a large disc brake arsenal in the foreseeable future.

Iā€™ve seen the new Evo rim brake. Very clean, slick bike.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I believe I can safely say I ride my bike as much or more than about anyone and will ask this question. What maintenance in regard to hydro? There really isn't any. I blow mine out with compressed air every so often. I have over 10K outdoor miles on my Madone this year still running the original pads. About 21,000 miles ridden total. All on hydro. Some on MTB, some on gravel. No issues. And I swore I'd never ride disk brakes....ever. And here I am.

24 Hour World TT Champs-American record holder
Fat Bike Worlds - Race Director
Insta: chris.s.apex
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply