Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Steel tri bike (Serotta)?
Quote | Reply
I am looking to purchase a custom tri-bike for next season (I am a genetic freak and no mass produced tri frame would fit properly).

Just raced Timberman this past Sunday, and spoke to the Serotta guys at the Expo--I never considered this brand before, thinking that it was way out of my price range, and not realizing they built tri-specific models. It turns out, they do, and the price ranges from $3,500-$4,500 (about as much as I am willing to spend)--and they are made of steel--the CXII model--there's also CXII SL (with carbon seattube-but that isn't an option since they start at a size too big for me).

I haven't really seen any steel tri-bikes before, so it seemed like an unusual choice of material (but I am not an expert by any means! Serotta has stellar reputation so they must know what they are doing). What's your take on it? Admittedly, I really like the look of steel (thin tubes, kind of more of a classic look), and I live in NYC, so I can enlist the services of Paul Levine, who, it seems like, is considered the top Serotta bike fitter.

Until this weekend, the frontrunner was a custom Yaqui--alu/carbon combo. Now I am completely torn between the two.

Any thoughts on either one of these bikes (or both)? Advantages/disadvantages? Which one would you consider a better deal ($4,000 or so is a LOT of money for me, so I am definitely looking for a good value. I know that the bike will get a lot of use though, so it will be worth it)?

FYI: I currently ride a pretty cheap aluminum road bike.

Thank you!
Quote Reply
Re: Steel tri bike (Serotta)? [NYC05] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
"I haven't really seen any steel tri-bikes before,"

The original QR's were steel and some of the bike times from that era are still faster than on the gollygeewhiz carbo/aero bikes of today.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply