Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

*Update: Sprint Race start temp of 48
Quote | Reply
I've got a full sleeve wetsuit and plan on using it. It will be the first time with a full suit in 11 years. The temps are a surprise to me, as start time is 48 and will only increase to 50 by end of race. Since it's my first time racing, I'm looking at completing it first and then hoping for a well executed race. I haven't raced in 7 years and am excited to be back in the game.

I did a search and only found a post on low temps for a longer race. I'm more interested in the balance between being warm enough and saving time in getting dressed for the elements (possible rain showers too).

This is for the bike only, I am not worried about the run

Here are my thoughts.
Full suit wetsuit
2 piece short and top under
Towel off
Maybe tights
Socks (to hopefully speed up putting on tights)
Long sleeve desoto skin cooler top (use his video tips for a quick put-on)
Gloves and toe covers *edited from shoe covers. I don't have them.
Beanie
Aero helmet
Maybe a vest but might just wing it and not mess with it.

Would love to do all this under 1.30 for T1 but likely 2 mins is more accurate.

Update posted in Post 25

Any suggestions from the group based on past experiences?

Rethinking as I proofread. Maybe start with top first and then work on socks and tights (rolled for a quick put on)

Thanks
Last edited by: littlefoot: May 10, 21 13:31
Quote Reply
Re: Sprint Race start temp of 48 [littlefoot] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Air temperature of 48? When you get out of the water you aren't going to notice. You won't be cold in T1. No need to towel off or do anything different in T1. You will get cold on the bike. Wear a windproof cycling jacket over your tri kit.
Quote Reply
Re: Sprint Race start temp of 48 [Dilbert] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Sorry, yes. Not sure of water temp. Will find out tomorrow.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply