Prev Next
Re: Something borrowed...something FAST! [Tom A.] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
In Reply To:
In Reply To:
In Reply To:
In Reply To:
In Reply To:
my understanding is that the "integration and constrain" nature of the method tends to dramatically minimize the associated sampling errors

So does signal averaging.

True 'dat.

Tom, haven't you said elsewhere your apparent precision -- well I prefer repeatability myself -- is about 0.001 m2 for your culvert? Ain't that down around 1W average power? Or maybe less at these test speeds?

IOW, I think that's getting down there!

Well...that's on my "preferred" half-pipe course. I seem to get pretty good repeatability there when testing identical configurations in the same session. Typically within +/- .001 to .002 m^2

Then again, maybe I'm just lucky ;-)

uhm I was really wondering if you'd thought about the what the CdA results implied about the repeatability of the PM (not accuracy). Just a sense check you know eh? I'm not good at dis English stuff.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
In Reply To:
Then again, maybe I'm just lucky ;-)

Damn you.
Quote Reply
Re: Something borrowed...something FAST! [rmur] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
In Reply To:
uhm I was really wondering if you'd thought about the what the CdA results implied about the repeatability of the PM (not accuracy). Just a sense check you know eh? I'm not good at dis English stuff.

It appears that on occasion the results are sensitive enough that one can diagnose problems with the PM. Alex mentioned that his buddy had a problem with the cover screws in a track hub. I've noticed a difference in a PT Pro hub that varied a little with clamping force -- it turned out my cone needed adjustment.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
In Reply To:
In Reply To:
In Reply To:
my understanding is that the "integration and constrain" nature of the method tends to dramatically minimize the associated sampling errors

So does signal averaging.

True 'dat.