Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Short training and race expectations
Quote | Reply
So, have not had enough time to train as much as I would have liked to. Several reasons..... won’t bore you all. I’m training 5hours a week but hitting the hard workouts hard and resting like a champ in between. I’ve been training consistently for 5 years with multiple half’s and fulls. My plan is to race in Oceanside 70.3 in April and will peak out at 8-10 hour week before a short taper. Thing that s, my power output on the bike is the same or better as is my running speed. Has this happened to anyone before during short training plans? Wondering if I should “ go for it” or scale it back a bit for this race. Is there a workout any would recommend 2 weeks out as a test that would give me an idea at what effort I should put out for this race? Thanks in advance for your opinions
Quote Reply
Re: Short training and race expectations [Ken66] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I did this starting 2 yrs ago, going for maximal sleep, maximal recovery between workouts (not slacking though) and lots of quality.

I did as well on 6-7 hrs of training as i did while training 10-11 hrs per week while busy and fatigued.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Same here on short training and also racing OSide, I won't have time for race simulations so doing race pace bricks (swim/bike, bike/run) and rest between bricks.

Without knowing how you've trained/raced before or what your strengths are, I would suggest racing at a comfortable level thru half the race- evaluate how you feel and then race accordingly.

Happy Training!
Quote Reply
Re: Short training and race expectations [LuckyLo] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply