Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Secondary Market Tax
Quote | Reply
Will the new changes to IRS reporting requirements add significant cost to the secondary market?

I am not a tax lawyer or a accountant but it seems to me like the change in reporting requirements means that each transaction loses ~20% to the government.

For example:
If I sell a set of wheels for $1000 + $50 shipping and the buyer pays through PayPal as goods and services this gets reported to the IRS as $1050 in income to me on a 1099-K. Do I now owe the federal government $231 in income taxes not including what I have to pay to my state?

If this is true, should will we see dramatically higher prices in the secondary market as people try to cover their own income tax?
Quote Reply
Re: Secondary Market Tax [PineCreek] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
PayPal's press release covers this specifically. Quick answer is that unless you're making a profit on your resale it won't, but talk to your accountant.

Quote:
Will the updated 1099-K Threshold Change apply if I sell personal property, like a couch or an item at a garage sale, for $600 or more if it was sold for less than its original value? Will I be issued a Form 1099-K?

While banks and payment service providers, like PayPal and Venmo are required by the IRS to send customers a Form-1099K if they meet the $600 threshold amount, there are certain amounts that may be included on the form that are generally excluded from gross income and therefore are not subject to income tax. This includes:

Amounts from selling personal items at a loss
Amounts sent as reimbursement
Amounts sent as a gift
So, for example, if you purchased a couch for $1200 and sold it for $800, this amount would not be subject to income tax.
Quote Reply
Re: Secondary Market Tax [andrewjshults] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply