Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Saucony freedom vs kinvara
Quote | Reply
I thought I would take a small break from the 50 Ironmans in 50 days thread that has consumed my slowtwitch time over the past few days to talk about something different. I've been running in kinvaras for the past 3 or 4 years and I absolutely love them but I get next to know mileage out of them and the guys at the one local shoe store have all changed from the kinvaras to the freedoms and I was wondering if anybody here on slowtwitch has done this as well now several of them said that they still race in the kinvaras but just use the freedoms for training because of how much better they hold up. What say you slowtwitch?
Quote Reply
Re: Saucony freedom vs kinvara [Fishbum] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Like you I was only getting limited mileage out of the Kinvaras. Roughly 250 - 300mi before they felt flat. I made the switch after a Saucony rep hosted a run for the Freedoms at my local running store and I was sold.

That first pair I got 1,076 mi out of with a mix of road, trail, and treadmill running. They honestly still felt good up until I decide to swap in a new pair. The crystal rubber on the bottom wears extremely well, but is slippery in wet conditions and certain surfaces like indoor tracks. The uppers held together pretty well and had a few minor rips at flex points but nothing which impacted wearability.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I have used the guide 9's 3 pairs and the uppers fell apart after 300 miles . The guide 10's seem to be a little better. I am interested in others experience with the freedoms as well.
Quote Reply
Re: Saucony freedom vs kinvara [xinm7] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Wow...Do u wear socks?
One of the things I love about the kinvaras is I don't need socks.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply