Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Sage advice for alcatraz?
Quote | Reply
I'm an alcatraz newbie (went to school years ago in the Bay Area, and signed up to do the rock in its infancy, but had a bit too much to drink the night before...hey, I was in college) and was looking for any advice that veterans of that race could give to someone flying in from the other coast. As in, not "pass on the left" (current forum discussions have that more than handled), more along the lines of "don't use bodyglide 'cus sharks think it's chub," or "walk the sand ladder 'cus even if you're running it, you're walking it." Also never have done a race with a little jog btw the swim and bike. Any effect on nutrition?

thanks,
z
Quote Reply
Re: Sage advice for alcatraz? [zee] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
1. Buy a thermal cap, especially if you aren't used to cold open water.

a. Do a swim at Aquatic Park the day before the race.

2. Brush up on your bike handling skills. Pretty technical course with a lot of twists and turns and up/downhills.

3. You're right...you're walking the sand ladder even if you think you're running it.

4. Pick a line for the beach running (prior to the sand ladder). See where the the foot prints are from the pros and faster folk.

5. Be nice to the volunteers...especially those who are out on the run/bike course in the fog and cold.

6. Don't wait until the last minute to rack your bike and take the last bus.

7. Be organized! You'll have the transition area, but also a bag on the boat and one at the end of the swim. Maybe write down beforehand what you want where.

8. Don't show up at registration without your photo ID and your USAT card. And say hi. I'm the Registration Director, so I'll be around.

clm
Nashville, TN
https://twitter.com/ironclm | http://ironclm.typepad.com
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Wow, Cathy really covered it, so here's all I could come up with:

Earplugs help prevent ice cream headache in the water.