Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Running shoes with cushion and drop
Quote | Reply
I’ve been running in Hokas for about six years. Had some knee issues before and they’ve got me back running consistently. I’ve recently developed some Achilles tendinitis so I want to rotate in shoes with some drop, but I don’t want to lose the cushioning. I’m thinking in the 8-10 mm range.

I’m planning to race mostly on trails, but most of my daily runs are on the road. So I’m looking for road and trail recommendations.

Thanks for any thoughts.
Quote Reply
Re: Running shoes with cushion and drop [philarunner] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
philarunner wrote:
I’ve been running in Hokas for about six years. Had some knee issues before and they’ve got me back running consistently. I’ve recently developed some Achilles tendinitis so I want to rotate in shoes with some drop, but I don’t want to lose the cushioning. I’m thinking in the 8-10 mm range.

I’m planning to race mostly on trails, but most of my daily runs are on the road. So I’m looking for road and trail recommendations.

Thanks for any thoughts.

Nike Vomero or Pegasus.

Both are great shoes in their latest iteration. Drop may be more in the 10-12 range, but that should ease the stretch on your achilles.

Three years ago I hadn't run in a Nike for 20 years. Now, I do 90% of my runs in Nike shoes. Amazing how times change.

----------------------------
Jason
None of the secrets of success will work unless you do.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I've used heel inserts (sorbothane make one for example) when my Achilles was troubling me more than normal.

I gradually weaned myself off them mainly through only having 2 pairs of inserts and sometimes forgetting to swap them over when I switched shoes. A Hoka with a heel insert is certainly an odd shoe but that's what I had and it worked for me.