Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Running on tarmac vs concrete
Quote | Reply
So apparently there's a difference. I hadn't realised, they both seem pretty hard! I did a 70.3 recently and a few people told me they weren't running in their racing flats because of the mostly concrete run course, I dismissed it. I always run in my racing flats, never had an issue, 5kms in my poor legs were ruined. It didn't affect my race, but man I was sore for days afterwards.
Quote Reply
Re: Running on tarmac vs concrete [zedzded] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Science can say what it likes, but my body tells me that tarmac is better than concrete.

This Slowtwitch post from some years back - https://www.slowtwitch.com/...r_Asphalt__4793.html

Trust me I’m a doctor!
Well, I have a PhD :-)
Quote Reply
Re: Running on tarmac vs concrete [PhilipShambrook] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
PhilipShambrook wrote:
Science can say what it likes, but my body tells me that tarmac is better than concrete.

This Slowtwitch post from some years back - https://www.slowtwitch.com/...r_Asphalt__4793.html

Yeah I don't know. This was Cairns 70.3, first time I raced there, 60 races down and first one I've got sore from the surface. I run in very light racing flats and would normally get a little sore the day after or the last few kms, but this was quite different.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Think about the particles in asphalt vs that in concrete. Asphalt will give you a nicer cushion. But to be honest I run on the concrete because I hate those people that run opposite in bike lanes and I'm not gonna be them.

Washed up footy player turned Triathlete.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply