Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Roka R1 goggles. Good? Bad?
Quote | Reply
Hey guys and gals,

I’m in the market for new swim goggles. Been doing some research and I’m 90% sure about the roka R1’s. Looking at the cobalt mirror.

Has anyone had good experience with these?
Or bad?
Reviews seem really good.
They would be for both pool and open water swims. Open water swims would be early morning for races.

Any advice would be great.
Thanks.

Also, any promos or coupons out there for Roka?

Thanks again

Quinner
Quote Reply
Re: Roka R1 goggles. Good? Bad? [Quinny98] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I have been swimming in them exclusively for the last 18 months. Really like them. Have had fogging issues, after a few months, but they claim to have new anti fog coatings now. If you are a USAT member you should have a personalized Roka code for 20% off.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Had a pair last year, which had issues thanks to the coating coming off after about 10-15 swims.... I'm now using Magic5 goggles and really like them - they were a Kickstarter earlier this year and they eyecups are custom made to fit your face (you use an app to scan your face which they then use to custom fit them to you). Not cheap, but seem to be worth it so far. https://themagic5.com/
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I'm in Canada, which means paying more (in our currency) and jumping through hoops to get stuff from the States. Worth it -- I love the Roka R1s. I used the cobalt mirror to do the Alcatraz swim last month, and they were great. It was pretty rough/cold water, and I didn't have any leaks or fogging. The amber mirror are great for all-around, pretty much any light condition. I get a couple pairs at a time and save them (older ones = training, newer = racing, newest = A race).
Quote Reply
Re: Roka R1 goggles. Good? Bad? [surroundhound] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
surroundhound wrote: