Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Reliable Automated Lap Counting Idea (Swimming)
Quote | Reply
Hi there,

I'm an engineering student looking at doing a triathlon related capstone project, and I'm looking at doing a project that would automatically count the number of laps you've swum in the pool.

Considering that there are already watches that can do this, I'm looking at creating a solution that you don't have to wear on your wrist.

From a fundamental functionality standpoint there are two things my solution must do:
  • Count laps and record time for each lap
  • Display lap count and lap timing information to the swimmer

So far I've come up with an idea that uses the proximity functionality of Bluetooth

This involves a Bluetooth chip that would replace the plastic adjustment piece for your goggle straps. The Bluetooth chip would be similar to a 'Tile' or 'Trackr' and would be able to transmit how far away it is from the device it is paired to.

The Bluetooth chip would be paired to a display unit (a phone or a waterproof device). The idea is that the user would press a button on the chip to indicate when and where they are starting to swim. This would start a timer on the display unit and send a position reference point from swimmer to the display unit. Whenever the swimmer returns to this reference point, the display unit would increment a counter indicating that they have completed a lap. When the swimmer is done swimming laps and wants to record their time, they could simply press the button on the chip again to tell the display unit to stop the timer.

The main issue with this idea is that Bluetooth does not transmit underwater. So it relies on the Bluetooth chip periodically coming out of the water and pairing with the display unit. I've tried this out with 'Tile' at the pool with a friend looking for it on my phone and it only really worked with my freestyle (not fly, back, or breaststroke).