Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: I'm so sick of tubeless tires [Slowman] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
and latex tubes are a non-starter for the great majority of triathletes, because of cost, and because of daily leakdown.

Dan,

I respectfully disagree with this. I don't race, but ride a lot for fun, fitness and personal challenge. I've been riding on latex tubes for a few years now, all the time for all my riding - no, more or less flats than when I was riding on butyl tubes - on average, 1 - 3 on the road flats/year. With the main outdoor riding season now winding down. My flat total for the year - my biggest year of riding in 15+ years is, two!

Yes, I have to touch up the psi before every ride. Yes they are a bit more pricy, but not a ton more. Yes they require a bit of TLC and some technique on the install.

On high end clincher tires Conti 4000s or 5000s, the ride is outstanding! Well worth these minor details in my view!

On Road Tubeless - I'm still trying to figure out what I would be gaining over riding Conti 5000's with latex tubes at just the right psi??

Steve Fleck @stevefleck | Blog
Last edited by: Fleck: Oct 12, 20 16:11
Quote Reply
Re: I'm so sick of tubeless tires [Fleck] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
This. And also "absolutely cannot flat" doesn't make sense either. What have people been doing when they get flats? Fix them and keep riding. Not to mention if it's the sealant you want, it can be added to tubes too. It's not a big deal. Both latex and tubeless have additional maintenance required in some way. Both are equally fast.

There's no clear superiority unless you can get tubeless mounted by hand like tubed, you can pump it up with a hand/floor pump from 0 psi, and sealant doesn't dry and require cleanup.

I'll try tubeless eventually, but it's still a pain in the ass compared to a rare 5 minute tire change.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Fleck wrote: