Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: How to keep Ironman from consuming your life [lightheir] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I hope so. Cramps are my kryptonite.
Quote Reply
Re: How to keep Ironman from consuming your life [len] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Chipping in with a view about the claim that 1 in 5 men aged 45 have potential to run sub38 for 10km.

Sounds right.

Im one - 37.55 at last race, which was a PB

I'm nothing special and never win races or even m45+ prize. So it seems likely to me that there are plenty of other 45 year old men out there who could run 38 mins if they focused and trained.

I had been running races for 25+ years, but got a new lease of life from the combination of Strava and a new Garmin watch with pace & km splits. Run 5 or 6 times per week for 60-80 km at an average pace of 4.30 per km

My training buddy is 49 and can run sub 35. He does win the M40+ prize quite often and is looking forward to turning 50 so he can dominate the dojo.
Quote Reply
Re: How to keep Ironman from consuming your life [KingMidas] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
KingMidas wrote:
Right on the money! I wish I could go sub 5 on 5 hours nut if I did that I’m not sure I would go sub 6.
I’ve been in the sport for a few years and even though I’ve improved the sub 5 has been elusive. I’m giving it a go in 8 weeks at Galveston. I am currently training 13-15 hours a week (~900tss/wk) for it and it’s not all z2. Tower26 for swim which is rough, mid volume TR plague and 35-40 mph running BarryP style with sprinkles of intensity. If you could have me do it in 5 hours a week I would seriously hire you right on the spot and you name your price (reasonably).

Quote Reply
Re: How to keep Ironman from consuming your life [StaffanS] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Dont know if that is the best approach....and again this is for HIM only!

I tell her that I will be MIA for 3 months. 3 Months of training, not a lot of alcohol and very few social things.