Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
TR Oly build is really hard!
Quote | Reply
Man, TR Oly build on the bike is hard!

I did the entire TR Oly base which went fine, not too bad, although my FTP only went up by a measly 4 after the base, but to be fair, I felt that I needed the less-intense bike after the summer race season. I've been doing tri for 9 years now so am pretty experienced - so I'm not getting any big newbie gains for sure.

I'm now wk 3 of the TR Oly Build plan (with the +4 FTP on the TR ramp test), and man, it's hard! I consider myself pretty good at suffering, but in the last two workouts, I couldn't complete the last interval or two without taking a quick pause mid-interval on my Kickr.

I'm also doing their runs/swims nearly as prescribed as well; those have been going fine, the only thing I've added to those are slightly longer pickups (1min instead of 30sec run pickups).

Anyone else do the TR Oly Build and care to comment on how hard it was for you? I will likely have to lower my FTP or do a -2-5% per workout in the next few weeks just to keep up!
Last edited by: lightheir: Jan 15, 19 11:10
Quote Reply
Re: TR Oly build is really hard! [lightheir] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Which volume are you doing? I have done 12 weeks of the high volume oly tri base and have increased my FTP by 36 during that time. I am on day 2 of the high volume oly build now. I am a duathlete so I skip all of the swims. Yesterday I was toying with the mid volume vs the high volume for build so I am curious to hear other peoples thoughts.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Took me 2 years to get from 300w to 325 (4.7w/kg). That's like 0.25W/week :) I'm sure I probably went up and down during this time... this is just based on the times when I actually tested.

What's your CdA?
Quote Reply
Re: TR Oly build is really hard! [pkeys00] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
pkeys00 wrote: