Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Raise my FTP by 11%
Quote | Reply
With all the talk of the runners getting 100 runs in 100 days - I want in on the action

I want help building a plan to get my 60 min power up from 310 to 344 by the start of March. Why 344? Because It’s a stretch goal and my highest all time 20 min power.

Almost all my training is indoors.

I have been averaging CTL ~50-60 / week for many years, not a newbie. FTP slowly creeps up, but after life-breaks (hectic work travel, family vacation, occasional sick / injury) never seem to raise beyond my current 60 min level. Family / work (and rest!) don’t let me train too many more hours than I do now.

So - what should I do?!
Last edited by: mvenneta: Nov 26, 18 18:28
Quote Reply
Re: Raise my FTP by 11% [mvenneta] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
What does a typical week look like now?
Quote Reply
Re: Raise my FTP by 11% [Tom_hampton] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Usually it’s something like the below. I can usually do 2-3 weeks like this, and then make the next week recovery.

M - 60-70% FTP for an hour. Or easy spin if needed

T - 50 min zwift race. 30 mins spin on either side

W - rest and sleep in a bit

R - 60 min zwift race. 20 min spin

F - easy day for about an hour

Sat - 2 hour ride. Usually an interval workout or race for an hour

Sunday - rest or easy spin for an hour
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Have you used Trainer Road? I've only used Zwift a little bit and can't remember if they have training plans. Trainer Road seems to be a bit more "scientific" in their training plans so might be a better option than Zwift.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I'm kinda new at this but that seems like a pretty light load.

"They know f_ck-all over at Slowtwitch"
- Lionel Sanders
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply