Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Racing this weekend with a hop in my wheel
Quote | Reply
I'm racing the Raleigh 70.3 this weekend and I have a problem with a hop in my wheel.

I've been training on a set of Aksiums for the past 6 months. A few weeks ago I rotated in my EC90 rear wheel (tubular) to get a feel for how things were going, and I noticed the wheel had a hop to it. I then remembered it had been there before from a bad glue job a year or two ago, but I haven't ridden on it and forgot about it. The result is that the tire is a few millimeters wider in diameter at one point than the rest of the wheel.

So I started riding on it, and generally I can't feel it. When I start riding above 25mph, I begin to notice it's there. I started rationalizing with myself for too long, and now I am in a predicament.

Should I commit to racing my 70.3 this weekend on a wheel with a small hop to it, or should I just default back to the Aksium wheel set I've been training with the past few months? Safety-wise I can't see much of an issue with the 70.3, other than the annoyance. But I feel like the aerodynamics of the EC90 is mitigated by the bumpiness, and it may be better to ride on another wheelset.

Thoughts?
Quote Reply
Re: Racing this weekend with a hop in my wheel [thekidd142] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
When you say the tire is 'wider' in one spot, do you actually mean 'higher', as in a vertical bump?

Assuming it is a vertical bump in a very small area, especially if located at the valve area, its a bad glue job and/or the valve area of the tire has a bit too thick of material around it causing a bump.

If the tire is still in really good condition, I'd remove it and try re-gluing it. Or, go to the LBS and buy a new tire. Try mounting it without glue first, see if it will sit properly without a bump. Then glue it, taking care to make sure the valve is in perfectly straight. If it is at an angle, you'll have a bump for sure.