Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Question about Beloki's crash and unwritten rules...
Quote | Reply
Why did the Lance have everyone wait for Jan when he crashed a few years back, and not wait to see if Beloki was going to continue after his crash this year? I realize why everyone waited for Lance yesterday, since he was in the yellow yersey, but don't quite understand the difference in the previous two examples, I'm a bit new to watching the tour.

---------------------------------------------------------

"What the mind can conceive and believe, the mind and body can achieve; and those who stay will be champions."
Quote Reply
Re: Question about Beloki's crash and unwritten rules... [Jack in Mi] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
It was obvious that he was not getting up.

It is known that you do not break on food, pottie, technical or other unexpected times in road racing in Europe. American racing (crits) on the otherhand, we will take others disadvantage to our advantage.

----------------------------------------------------------

What if the Hokey Pokey is what it is all about?
Quote Reply
Re: Question about Beloki's crash and unwritten rules... [Jack in Mi] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I think it is a circumstance type thing? First Beloki wasn't the race leader, they were on a descent, the pack did somewhat slow up.

Ullrich not the race leader himself but the race leader was sitting up for him. If you look at the replays Ullrich was immediately trying to get himself back in the race, same with Armstrong yesterday. Beloki didn't have that luxury and I think the racers new it. Armstrong the race leader (Possibly not the race leader on the road at that time) in the case with Beloki didn't have a chance to sit up for him because of the circumstances, they were on the chase, (the race leader was being attacked), the cyclocross event and they were descending.