Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

QR Fit
Quote | Reply
Hi,

I'm a newbie,can someone please help me out here; I've done a year of tri's on a mountain bike, and it's time to move on. My buddy is selling his '98 QR Kilo Private Reserve, (79 degrees) it is a yellow beauty w/ a carbon gusset, Hed Jet wheels a la 650c. It has road bars/STI & Profile Carbon Strike aero bars. Now, I'm 5'11" 165, I believe I'd need a 56 road bike. But this bike is a 59, the top tube is 56 & it feels pretty good, albeit aggressive aero but comfortable. Is this the right bike for me? I know the tri set up is supposed to have a shorter T.T. is this one too big?

Thanks,

Flyboy
Quote Reply
cant tell just from the description [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
since it is impossible to fit accurately without seeing pictures, it will be impossible for anyone here to tell if it fits or not. That said, i'd probably guess that the top tube is too long for someone your height, and something more along the lines of a 54cm top tube would be closer.

read the fit articles on this site... they should help you determine if the bike fits decently or not.

wilson
Quote Reply
Re: QR Fit [Flyboy] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
take the bike to a local bike shop and see want they think.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I just bought a QR Caliente. I'm 6-0, and was fitted to a 55. I agree with others that this 59 will *probably* be big for you, to the point of losing the better balance afforded in forward geometry frames. A fitting with someone knowledgeable will tell the tale.
Quote Reply
Go to your LBS for fit [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply