Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Preparing for a Microdiscectomy and Laminectomy – L5/S1 Lumbar Spine
Quote | Reply

Preparing for a Microdiscectomy and Laminectomy – L5/S1 Lumbar Spine

I wanted to start a thread about “preparing for a microdiscectomy and laminectomy” in the hope it would help a lot of you who have made a decision to have the procedure. And I also wanted to give an overview of immediate life after microdiscectomy surgery based on the specific instructions I was given by my surgeon. And also give readers a list of the items I bought pre and post-op that helped in my recovery. Standard disclaimers, I am not a Doctor, don’t rely on anything I say as medical advice, do everything at your own risk etc, etc, blah, blah, blah…

1. Introduction.
2. Treat your Pre-Hab as Seriously as your Re-Hab.
3. Microdiscectomy Immediate Post-Op Life.
4. Stuff I bought Pre and Post-Surgery to Help.
5. Other Stuff that Helped.
6. Current Status and Exercise Program – September 1, 2020.

Introduction.

Lots of readers are searching this forum in anticipation of having a microdiscectomy as well as those, like me, that have had the procedure and are looking for help in recovery. Lots of you are also trying to get some form of reassurance as to the path back and what your prospects are for training/racing again. So I’m assuming for the purposes of this post that you’ve made the decision to have a microdiscectomy/or are about to have one. “Misery” loves company but so does “hope”. That’s why this forum was a great inspiration for me as I debated the “surgery” or “no-surgery” question right up to the night before when I finally started freaking out about what I was getting myself in to. I wanted to be that guy who came out of surgery positioned to be stronger than before as well as better educated about how to manage my training at 57 years old in a way that was going to keep me pain-free and turning up at the start line.