Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Powercranks Journal
Quote | Reply
I thought I would start a little journal of my Powercranks experience for other interested parties to see.

First some background. I have been doing triathlons on and off since 1988.

Last year I did 2 triathlons and here are the results.

Ironman Brazil: 10:43 (1st attempt at the Ironman distance)

Reston Triathlon: 2:02

This year I am planning on doing Ironman Florida and the Reston Triathlon. Will the Powercranks make a difference. We shall see.

PC = Powercranks

I picked up the Powercranks from my local LBS and opened the box. The cranks are a work of art and look extremely well made. I opted for the adjustable ones just in case I wanted tweak my crank arm length. It took about an hour for me to switch my normal cranks with these. The biggest problem I ran into was getting the dust cover off my Dura Ace cranks. One was really tight and it took a while to get it off. The tools I used were a Dura Ace dust cover remover tool (DA usually gives these free when you get the DA bottom bracket), 2 8mm hex wrenches and a 5mm hex wrench. My bottom bracket had 8mm self extracting bolts so removing cranks were easy. I just moved the chain ring from the Dura Ace cranks to the Powercranks. I am pretty sure I used a 5mm hex wrench for that. Next I attached the Powercranks to my bike with the DA chainrings. I used the 1 8mm hex wrench on each side tighten the cranks into the bottom bracket. Make sure when you do this to align the groves on the cranks with the bottom bracket. Also when you order the cranks specify what bottom bracket you have.

Date 2/25/2004

Day 1 - Wednesday : 20 minutes (PC) on trainer - felt sad (Not emotionally, just physically), muscles hurt (Good hurt)

Day 2 - Thursday: 30 minutes (PC) on trainer - muscles hurt from the previous workout. Had to glide every now and then because my muscles were burning.