Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

PowerTap efficiency
Quote | Reply
A question for those who engage in the endless pursuit of getting that last bit of speed out of their bike:

A power meter, by definition, taps a small percentage of power from either your cranks or hubs - I am no expert, but I assume it would have a miniature dynometer in order to determine the amount of power being turned into rotational energy. This means that the amount of power that is reaching the back wheel is going to be fractionally less than if there were no power meter in the mechanical linkages from legs to wheel (based upon the law of Conservation of Energy).

Does anyone know what percentage of total power is being lost to the meter? (it would be very small, but for the obsessive amongst us, it would conceivably add up to a noticeable time difference over 180km).

A couple of other factors I would be interested in hearing comments on:
1. The extra weight (50-100g) of the hub over a standard hub.
2. The use of a wireless power meter means that even more power must be extracted to power the RF transmitter in place of a simple electrical signal along wires.

Your thoughts and comments...
Quote Reply
Re: PowerTap efficiency [SwBiRu] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Is this triathlon's version of the Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle?
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
In Reply To:
A question for those who engage in the endless pursuit of getting that last bit of speed out of their bike:

A power meter, by definition, taps a small percentage of power from either your cranks or hubs

you've jumped the tracks right at the start...

In Reply To:
I am no expert, but I assume it would have a miniature dynometer in order to determine the amount of power being turned into rotational energy.[/quote] That's not how the most common PM's calculate power. For an overview of how they actually measure power, give this a read.

In Reply To: