Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Post Race Analysis: Obligatory Covid Solo Race
Quote | Reply

I have been on run-centric training plan with focus on beating my half marathon PR of 1:19:30, set almost 2 years ago.

This was my summer to smash it but all races were cancelled! I have remained diligent in my self-designed training plan, glaring inefficiencies be damned!

(I am 6', 1", 200 lbs, 40 years old...lol)

So I had to set a day and stick with it. I kept pushing it back week after week making excuses to avoid the assured pain...

I finally committed to a taper week and raced the clock yesterday morning.

https://www.strava.com/activities/3615533243

It could have been better...

On the plus side this was my first race in Zoom 4% or whatever these things are, the green ones. I should hit 1:15 no problem right?!

I have been running consistent 20-35 mile weeks for 4 years now.

First excuse: The route has almost 600 ft of climbing which is not a lot I guess, but a lot of the vert is in one hill that gets ya. Long and drawn out over a mile. Right at 7 miles. So painful... Check out the shape in elev. profile. Mean bugger.

Second excuse: taper weeks suck when it is nice weather and I am in such habit of getting out there.
Saturday evening, beautiful sun out, warm. Go for easy mountain bike ride but then decide to spontaneously crush a couple Strava KOMs... so dumb. But I still figured I could pull out Sunday am if I wanted.

Sunday am felt pretty good. Race time!

First half felt pretty good, managed a 10k PR of 37:33 (up from 37:45 last year in 10k race)
The definitely cursed the damned Strava sections on the bike from mile 6 to 13 on the run. Fatigue. Nike Carbon sole no longer springing me to victory. Collapse in form last 2 miles, on deaths door.

Struggled to hold 6:15 for last few miles. fell to 6:30. The last .1 is up horrible little hill to finish with a whimper at 1:23.