Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Planning my first ever triathlon season! Advice?
Quote | Reply
Hello friends,

I'm a rank beginner. Was on the swim team through early high school & lifeguard certified, but stopped swimming when I learned to drive & only started again last month (I was also never very fast). Commute to work by bike (12 mi. r/t), have done LOTS of long distance backcountry hiking but never run any serious distance, ever. I've never competed in any kind of race. Have been training for fitness for two years (before that I'd grown sedentary), and have lost over 50 pounds. I'm down to 18% body fat and improving regularly- rapidly since I started training again.

I've committed to becoming a triathlete, and have been training on my own for a little while now. I swim for half an hour on mornings four days/week, continue to commute, and have arranged roughly 8 additional hours/week for training, including long blocks on the weekend. I've found a group of friends to practice group riding with, and will be participating in Team in Training in the spring/summer. I am already confident in my ability to finish an Olympic distance event (that is, make the cutoff, not win).

I'm now planning the 2005 season. Money is a serious factor, as is the fact that I work full time, am a fulltime student, and have volunteer obligations I can't shirk. As a result, I can't consider any event that won't be within driving distance of NYC.

Here's what I'm thinking about:

June 12: Eagleman Half-Ironman.
Goal: Triathlon experience, don't finish last.
Questions: Too soon? I will be early in my TinT experience.

September ???: Team in Training NY-area event. Probably Westchester Triathlon.
Goal: Personal Best, a time I can be proud of.
Questions: None. This one is a given.

Mid-October: Duke Blue Devil Ironman
Goal: Finish.