Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Pick my gravel wheelset
Quote | Reply
Hey ST,

I'm jumping on the gravel bandwagon with a Spesh Diverge. Leading two options for the 650b wheelset are HED Emporia GA Pro at $900 or ENVE G27 at $2500. Leadtime at HED is 6 weeks, 16 weeks for ENVE.

Is the ENVE worth 3x the price and wait?

I'm new to gravel, so can't say for sure where this will lead other than getting into the foothills of the Cascade mountains outside my doorstep here in the PNW. Mostly solo riding for riding's sake, although I do have my eye on several local gravel fondos if we ever get back to that sort of thing and would have the competitive juices flowing.

What would you do?
Quote Reply
Re: Pick my gravel wheelset [GreatScott] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
have you considered the enve gravel foundation wheels? they are about 1600 a pair

the world's still turning? >>>>>>> the world's still turning
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Whether you spend $150 and build your own wheel like I did or spend 20 times that, the tires you put on them is going to make a lot more difference in the performance of your bike than the wheels.

And they cost less...
Quote Reply
Re: Pick my gravel wheelset [cdw] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Good point; third option:

24 hole 650b HED Belgium G hoops with White Industries CLD+ hubs

Thoughts on that build?
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I would look at the AG28 from ENVE but only because they have lifetime incident protection. I personally went with Spinergy GX Max for a 650b wheelset. I'd rather have 3 fairly nice wheelsets (each setup with different tires) rather than 1 really, really nice wheelset.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply